I don’t need your Civil War.

So, I’ve started to write a story, ya know, for shits ‘n giggles. While brainstorming plot ideas, I was thinking a lot about what would drive a person to do the acts I describe in the book. What acts? Well, the story is about a terrorist cell that operates during a second American Civil War (for maximum awesome, listen to this while reading this post). The story involves a few morally grey areas that I won’t talk about now, but were very interesting to think about. I mean, what motivates someone to commit acts of violence, hate and even school yard jackassary.

Psychology has been, and still is, something I’m very interested in. The human mind is a strange place, as is evident by some of the dreams I’m starting to recall as part of my training to lucid dream. I’ve dreamed of everything from a new Kevin Butler speech as the latest PAX, to being caught up in an worldwide underground black market that sells teenage transsexuals. I wish I was kidding on that last one…

Keeping in mind that I’m not a professional… ANYTHING, I feel that the majority of violence stems from 2 areas: fear of the unknown/different and fighting for a ‘righteous’ cause. That last one is of particular note, especially as it’s the main reason for the characters in my story (although most of them also have personal secondary factors). Trying to make your cause seem just is hard, so most people just say ‘Fuck it’ and try to do it, even if it pisses most people off. Religion is a big part of that. In an interview for The God Delusion (brillant book, that), Richard Dawkins explains that (paraphrasing here, I don’t have the book on me) “Most of the [extremist priests/parsons] I spoke too seemed like genuinely good people, but their minds were spoiled by their religious teachings into a hate filled pot.”

That’s not to say there’s other reasons for hate, of course not, and I’ll include some of them in my story, even some very odd ones (one of my characters thinks that humanity is too vain, and another one thinks that the only war to bring out goodness in humans is for him to do the worst ala. rescue operations on 9/11). And of course, we all have hate in us. Me, you, your family and friends. We all have our own reasons for the hate, but the best of us can look past that. Unfortunately, I am not the best of us. But I know someone out there is. And in the end when it comes to hate, I think, maybe, we all mad.

Leave a Reply

